Monmouth County Car Accident Lawyer
A car accident can leave you with serious injuries and a stack of unpaid medical bills. On top of that you may be unable to return to work for some time and earn a living. So if your accident was someone else’s fault, you understandably want to know more about your options for demanding compensation from the responsible parties.
An experienced Monmouth County car accident lawyer can help. At Poulos LoPiccolo PC, we represent clients who have sustained significant injuries in car accidents caused by third-party negligence. We can help you in navigating New Jersey’s complex rules for seeking compensation and hopefully help you to start rebuilding your life following your accident.
When Can You Sue a Negligent Driver Following a New Jersey Car Accident?
New Jersey has a “no-fault” car insurance system. This means that as a vehicle owner, you are required to carry a minimum amount of personal injury protection (PIP) as part of your standard auto insurance coverage. PIP coverage is expected to pay for your medical bills and other out-of-pocket losses following an accident, regardless of who was at-fault.
These no-fault rules also limit your right to sue a negligent driver. Basically, you can only sue for personal injury if that accident led to the loss of a body part, significant disfigurement or scarring, death, or some other type of permanent injury. In these cases, you may be able to “step outside” the no-fault system and take direct legal action against the parties responsible for your accident. (The no-fault rules do not cover damages to your car or other personal property, so you can always sue to recover those losses.)
If a court finds the other driver or another party was completely at-fault, they can be required to pay you compensation. But New Jersey follows a “modified comparative fault” rule in personal injury cases. This means a defendant can try to argue that you were partly or completely at-fault for the accident. If a judge or jury finds that you are more than 50 percent responsible, you receive nothing. Otherwise, the court will reduce the total amount the defendant owes you based on your comparative fault.
Car Accident Lawyers Serving Ocean, Monmouth & Middlesex County
Following a car accident it is important to seek out legal advice as soon as possible. New Jersey has strict deadlines for filing a personal injury lawsuit, which is usually 2 years from the date of the accident. While that may sound like a lot of time, it can quickly pass if you are stuck dealing with your own insurance company and trying to sort out who was actually responsible for your accident.
This is where having a skilled New Jersey car accident lawyer by your side can prove invaluable. The personal injury team at Poulos LoPiccolo can review your case and assist you in understanding your legal rights under the no-fault system and New Jersey law. Contact us today to schedule an initial consultation.