New Jersey Wage Theft Lawyer
There is nothing more frustrating–and financially crippling–than when your employer refuses to pay you for the work that you perform. Wage theft is a major problem in New Jersey. That is why in 2019, the New Jersey legislature substantially strengthened the state’s wage theft laws to not only make it easier for workers to take action, but also provide stiff penalties for employers who try to avoid their financial obligations towards their employees.
In short, wage theft is something that you should never tolerate. An experienced New Jersey wage theft lawyer can advise and assist you in holding your employer legally accountable. At Poulos LoPiccolo PC, we represent workers such as yourself who are entitled to compensation they never received from a current or former employer.
Wage Theft Is a Civil and Criminal Offense in New Jersey
Under New Jersey law, an employer must pay its employees at least twice per month on regularly designated paydays. This includes any overtime pay that may be owed for hours worked in excess of 40 per 7-day workweek. An employer must also furnish a written wage statement or pay stub detailing any hours worked, the employee’s hourly wage, and any legal deductions taken from gross wages owed.
Thanks to the 2019 revisions to New Jersey’s wage theft law, an employer who knowingly fails to employee their full wages due can be ordered to pay “liquidated damages” if that employee successfully brings a lawsuit. Liquidated damages can be up to 200 percent of the unpaid wages. In effect, this means that if your employer deliberately fails to pay you, a judge can order the employer to pay you triple what you are owed. Additionally, your employer can be held liable for your legal fees and court costs associated with your wage theft lawsuit.
The 2019 law also extended the statute of limitations, i.e., the time period to bring a claim for wage theft. Today, a New Jersey employee has up to six years to file a lawsuit. So even if your wage theft occurred a couple of years ago, there is still time to take action.
It is also worth noting that wage theft is not simply a civil or administrative violation. It is also a crime. An employer who violates the state’s wage payment laws can be fined $500 for a first offense and sent to jail for 90 days. Repeat violations can lead to felony charges and up to 5 years in jail and a $15,000 fine.
New Jersey Wage Theft Lawyers Serving Ocean, Monmouth & Middlesex County
Employers often count on their employees’ reluctance to take legal action to get away with wage theft. But there is never any legal justification for such practices. If you do the work, you are entitled to get paid, period. Your employer has no right to make excuses–and they can be made to pay a serious price for their failure to comply with the law.
So if you are fighting for any back pay that you are owed and need to speak with a qualified New Jersey wage theft lawyer, contact Poulos LoPiccolo PC today to schedule an initial consultation.