Switch to ADA Accessible Theme
Close Menu
New Jersey Employment Lawyer

New Jersey


New York

New Jersey Employment Lawyers > Blog > Wage Hour > New Jersey Now has a $15.13 Per hour Minimum Wage for Most Workers

New Jersey Now has a $15.13 Per hour Minimum Wage for Most Workers


As of January 1st, 2024, the New Jersey Department of Labor and Workforce Development states that the state’s minimum wage is now $15.13 for many workers. The state’s minimum wage—which is significantly higher than the federal level—exists to help protect the “health, efficiency, and general well-being” of workers. Here, our New Jersey wage and hour lawyer provides an overview of the state’s minimum wage for 2024 and explains the steps that you should take if you believe your rights were violated.

An Overview of the New Jersey Minimum Wage for 2024 

In 2023, New Jersey has a statewide minimum wage of $14.13 per hour for employers with six or more employees. The 2023 minimum wage for employers with five or fewer employees was $12.93. Both minimum wage levels have increased to adjust for a rising cost of living in our state. The minimum for 2024 is $15.13 for employers in New Jersey with six or more employees. For smaller employers, the minimum wage is now $13.73. There are a few other modest exceptions to the rule for certain industries. Here is an overview of the minimum wage exceptions for 2024:

  • Agricultural worker minimum wage is now $12.81 per hour;
  • Seasonal worker minimum wage is now $13.73 per hour; and
  • Direct staff at long-term care facility worker minimum wage is now $18.13 per hour.

What to Do If Your Minimum Wage Rights Were Violated in New Jersey 

Employers in New Jersey must comply with the state mandated minimum wage. If they fail to do so, they can be held legally responsible. Workers can seek full back pay for the wages they were denied and, potentially, liquidated damages. Here are three key steps to take:

  1. Document the Violation: The first step is to meticulously document the violation. Keep detailed records of your work hours, pay stubs, and any communication with your employer regarding your wages. The documentation serves as essential evidence if you need to pursue a legal claim for unpaid/underpaid minimum wage.
  2. Report the Matter: Once you have sufficient documentation, you should raise the matter directly to your employer and report the violation to the New Jersey Department of Labor and Workforce Development (NJDOL).
  3. Consult With a Lawyer: Do not go it alone. A top-tier New Jersey wage and hour lawyer can protect your rights and help you find the best solution. The right legal representation can make the difference. 

Contact Our New Jersey Wage and Hour Attorney Today

At Poulos LoPiccolo PC, our New Jersey wage and hour lawyers have the skills and experience to handle all types of minimum wage cases. If you were underpaid in violation of New Jersey’s minimum wage laws, we can help. Call us now or contact us online to set up your confidential case review. We handle wage and hour cases in Monmouth County and across New Jersey.



Facebook Twitter LinkedIn
Attorney Advertising

The information on this website is for general information purposes only. Nothing on this site should be taken as legal advice for any individual case or situation. This information is not intended to create, and receipt or viewing does not constitute, an attorney-client relationship.

No content on this site may be reused in any fashion without written permission from www.pllawfirm.com

© 2022 - 2024 Poulos LoPiccolo PC. All rights reserved.
This law firm website and legal marketing are managed by MileMark Media.